The origin of Shwedagon Pagoda materialized in brilliant epoch in Buddhist history over 2500 year ago. In India, prince Siddhartha had just attained Buddhahood when he was visited by two brother Tapussa and Bhallikqa,merchants from Myanmar who offered a gift of honey cakes. In return, the Buddha personally removed eight hair from his head and gave these to the two brother for enshrinement in their native town of Okkalapa which is now the City of Yangon. On their return, the two brothers presented the Buddha's hair to the King of Okkalapa who erected the pagoda and enshrined the eight hairs together with the relics of pervious three Buddhas.The original height of the pagado was 66 feet. From the 14 thcentury onward successive monarchs in Myanmar rebuilt or regilded 15mils
The two brothers, Taphussa & Bhallika, conveyed the eight sacred hairs compassionately bestowed on them by our Lord Buddha and presented to King Okkalapa who enshrined and worshipped them in a zedi on Singutlara Hill. This holy shrine has now traversed 2587 years. Renovation and enhancement by a long line of Kings have raised the high of the original 66 feet to its present 326 feet.
King Mindon hoisted an Umbrella (hti) on this noble pagoda in King Mindon Era 1233 ( AD 1872 ). This umbrella, subject to the vicissitudes of the element for 128 years has degenerated.
The hoisting of the new Umbrella was celebrated for the three days ( 4.4.99 to 6.4.99 ) with the respectful attendance of multitudes.
Wish – fulfilling Shwedagon
Gold Umbrella hoisted gold colours in spate gold plates illuminate the sky it seemed the sun had returned a thousand rays to dispel darkness famed throughout the six deva realms to the abodes of Brahmas and to all beings they came with the Seven Jewels to pay homage and donate happily to wish for to obtain through the bountiful power of Shwesagone.
On the Shwedagon
Gold 2034.68 viss / 3.08 tons
Pouring water at the Bo-tree
True to Buddhist tradition, water was poured at the Bo-tree on the Shwedagon platform on Ka Son Full-moon day.
Freeing of life as good augury for good times ahead across the nation. Birck, livestock and fish are released on land, in water & air as part of the ground merit-making (P-205). Instant sharing of merit through freeing to life without danger.
It is a monument in the middle of the business centre of Yangon and it is one of oldest pagoda.The traffic swirled the pagoda.A pedestrian bridge renders it safe for a pilgrim to reach one of Yangon’s oldest pagodas. This is a think that the name of “Sule” came from the “Suwae”. It is concern with the history of word Shwedagon. According to the history of Kyaikasan and general history of Myanmar and Rahkhine, two trader brothers from Myanmar, by the names of Tapussa and Bhallika brought eight strands of the Latter’s hair thatever given by the Buddha into the Ruler of Okkalapa,and they searched seingotsara hill. Although the Buddha hairs were shrined in a zedi or pagoda, but they did not know that place. Shwedagon pagoda was built by finding that place, after the Ruler of Okkalapa and Nats or Spirits were assembled containing with Sule Nate and inviting the four great Nats on the upland on “Sule Pagoda”was built. Then the humen with the Nats were assemble, they built a pagoda as a celebration and called as “Suwae zedi or pagoda”. The Myanmar name “Suwae” means “assembly” Then the name “Sule pagoda” was changed from” Suwae Pagoda” by moving the long period.
Kaba Aye, meaning World Peace, was built to commemorate the sixth Buddhist Synod in 1954 which was held in maha Pasana Guha(Cave) within the same compound. The Buddhist Museum, Maha Pasana Cave & Wizaya Mingala Dhammathabin Hall are also located in the same place.
Located on Pyay Road, the National Museum has five floors of exhibits.The National Museum of Myanmar was found in 1952 once on Shwedagon Pagoda Road. In 1970, the museum was moved to a building on Pansodan Street. Then, it is moved to the present location, a five storey building on Pyay Road. It opens Tuesday to Sunday ( 10:00 to 15:30 ). Objects being displayed are 4560 and 15000 objects are preserved. It displays the Lion Throne, the Elephant Throne, the Royal Regalia, manuscripts, paintings, etc. On the ground floor, there are three halls which display the evolution of Myanmar Scripts and alphabets, Yadanapon Period pieces and the majestic throne: Thihathana Throne (Royal Lion Throne).The last Myanmar Monarch King Thibaw seated on this throne when deliberating with his ministers on state affairs. One of the four halls on the first floor displays the Royal regalia. The suns of royal ceremonies of Myanmar Kings can also be seeing in the hall. In the Hall of Myanmar History, on the same floor, clay pots, urns, votive, tablets and necklace of Pyu Era are exhibited. On the second floor of the Museum, in the Hall of Cultural the modes of transportation still use in rural areas, such as bullock cart, are exhibited and one hall is assigned to traditional music, song and dance. The third floor consists of three halls two for paintings and one for ancient ornaments and jewellery on the top floor; visitor can adore the Buddha images from Pyu Period to the present day.
A scenic park with a lovely view of Kandawgyi Lake is located on Nat Mauk Road & close to the pagodas of Shwedagon & Mahavizaya. The sites to see are Fresh Water Fish Garden, Relaxation Zone, Rock Garden, Water in Recreation Zone.
Located near “Kandawgyi Palace Hotel”, the Zoo is noted for its collection of wild animals, flora and fauna which have been collected over the years since it was opened in 1906. On weekend and Public holidays, snake dance and elephant circus are performed for visitors. It is open daily from 08:00 to 18:00 hours. The Zoological Garden Amusement Park is also a well known spot for children and teenagers.
Bogyoke Aung San Market
Bogyoke Aung San Market (a.k.a Scott Market) is the second most attraction for visitors to Yangon. Bogyoke Aung San Market was built in 1926.It is located at the corner of Sule Pagoda Road & Bogyoke Aung San Street. This popularity is understandable, considering the choices of products for sale at the market and the colorful excitement of activity taking place there. Choices are limitless in this 29717 square meter market. Over 2000 shops sell anything a consumer could possibly want: Shan bags, luggage, sandals, tapestries, rattan, shoehorns, light bulbs, blankets, cosmetic, herbal medicines, kyauk-pyin (circular stone used for grinding the cream-colored facial cosmetic bark known as thanakha), thanakha logs itself, religious items, books, whiskey, bamboo trinkets, pots, clothing— it’s all in the market.Myanmar handicrafts, ranging in variety, are coveted by tourists for their quality and price. Bogyoke market is a treasure trove for such hand-made crafts. Jade jewelry is a perennial favourite. Discriminating buyers can find Imperial Jade, unmatched anywhere in the world, set in gold mountings. Antiques from knives to lacquer were plentiful at Bogyoke Aung San Market. Village and rural artifacts such as water buffalo bells and rustic utensils, brass weights and stone carvings, figurines and crystals give collectors a wide selection of unique choices. Perhaps one of the best buys is the original works of Myanmar artists. Watercolors and drawings of talented local artists fill the perimeter of one of the market inner court ways. Of course, modern items are readily available. If a visitor has forgotten to bring a jacket or needs a change of clothing, toiletries or other necessities, a visit to Bogyoke Market will fill the need. It opens daily (9:00 AM to 5:00PM). There are 2000 shops. They sell luxury items, handicrafts, gold smith, clothing, jewellery, foodstuffs, fashion, paints & consumer goods.
Allied War Memorial Cemetery
The Cemetery is located at Htaukkyant, 32 km from Yangon on the road to Bago. It has beautifully kept grounds has 27000 graves of Allied Soldiers who died in Myanmar during World War II. It is very quiet and peaceful place. The cemetery began in 1951. Graves were receives from four battlefield cemeteries, namely Sittway,Mandalay, Meikhtila and Sahmaw. In addition, many more graves were received from civil and military cemeteries as well as many jungle and roadside graves. There is a stone monolith engraved with “Their Name Lived F
orever”. In the centre of the cemetery, the “Rangoon War Memorial” stands impressively. The memorial was unveiled in February 1958.
Bago like other ancient cities was founded in 825 A.D.. The original name of Bego Ussa, the founders were two Mon brothers, Thamala & Vimala from Thaton. After 260 years of prosperity, the city came under Burmese Kings & remained & eclipsed from more than three hundred years.
In 1369, the king of Mataban, Wareru Dynasty removed his capital to Bago & Changed the city’s name “ Hanthawaddy “. King Tabin Shwehti of Taungoo conquered the city in 1541 AD. King Anaukphet Lun of AVA drove the usurpers & “ hanthawaddy “ was annexed to the Kingdom of AVA. Bago or Hanthawaddy greatly flourished during the reign of Bayinnaung ( 1550 – 1581 AD ). The prominent structures are Shwemawdaw, Maha Zedi, the Reclining Image of Buddha - Shwe Thalyaung, Kanbawza Thadi Palace & the Kalyani Ordination Hall.
Thanlyin once called Syriam is a trading port occupied by the Proteguese in early 17th century. Thanlyin and its surroundings offer many attraction. The old buildings still stand the evidence of the days of Proteguses occupation. The 1822 meter long bridge spanning the Bago River made possible the 45 minutes drive from Yangon. Thanlyin ( Syriam ) was an important trading centre in the 17th. century under the Portuguese Colonial Administration so that old buildings can be seen. Visit Kyauk Tan Ye Le Paya, “Mid-Stream-Pagoda”, set on a tiny island in the river and the riverside market, Kyaik Kauk Pagoda & enjoy the overview.
Twantay was the ancient city, which stands nearest to the present capital Yangon. It has linkages with Bagan, Innwa, Taungoo and Konebaung eras.
Agriculture and Fisheries are the main business for populace. Local products such as bamboo, rattans, bamboo-trays, sieves, and bamboo-chairs are also produced there. As pottery is one of their industries, you can see many potters’ workshops. You can also see many looms, as weaving is also another traditional industry.
The ancient city of Twantay, is not only prosperous, pleasant and beautiful but also famous for its ancient historical ShweSanDaw pagoda.
The capital of Myanmar Last Kingdom and of Myanmar Kings, is situated in Central Myanmar 668 km north of Yangon. It was founded by King Mindon in 1857 and remained to be the official seat of Myanmar Kings until it was occupied by the British in 1885 and designated Yangon as capital. It is the largest city after Yangon and is both a bustling commercial center and a repository of rich cultural heritage. With the remains of the old Royal City and many old monasteries, Mandalay is a showcase for Myanmar art and architecture of the 19th century. It is also noted for woodcarvings, silverware, tapestries, silk, and other products of traditional handicraft. It has links to all parts of the country by rail, road, river and air.
The fortified city is in the form of a square, each side of which is ten furlongs in length, a battlemented wall of brick and mud mortar has a total height of 25 feet and is backed by an earthen rampart. There are 12 gates, three on each side, at equal distances from each other. Pyatthats or pavilions of wood surmount them. These total 48 in numbers. The moat surrounding the city is approximately 225 feet wide and 11 feet deep. Four bridges spanning the moat lead to the main gates. The palace thus occupied the central spot in the city.
The palace, with magnificent woodcarving embellishing it, was destroyed by fire during World War 11. However, the Lion Throne survived the war and is now exhibited at the national museum in Yangon.
Today, Myat-Nan-San-Kyaw Golden Palace in Mandalay has been reconstructed; a monument of historical value, the glory of the Myanmar people - embellished and renovated - is a testimony to the ancient culture.
The city was named after the Mandalay Hill, which is situated at the northeast corner of the present city. The hill has for long been a holy mount and it is believed that Lord Buddha prophesied that a great city, metropolis of Buddhism, would be founded at its foot. It was King Mindon who fulfilled the prophecy.
A spectacular sight at sunset. It gives you a bird’s-eye view of the city, the wide areas of the Ayeyawaddy plains and the misty shanhills. Down the hillside are small stupas and monasteries half hidden under the thickly-clustered trees. Fascinating and interesting sights along the stairway include ancient images and shrines, and colourful souvenir stalls. The hill has been a holy amount for long & legends has it that the Buddha on His visit had prophesied that a great city would be founded at its foot. Mandalay Hill 230 metres in elevation, command a magnificent view of the city a& surrounding.
The whole palace complex was destroyed by fire during the War. The palace walls, the four gates and the moat still stand today as evidence of the majestic Palace City. A number of palace buildings have been reconstructed within the premises --- Mya Nan San Kyaw Shwenandaw, the replica of the Mandalay Palace, Nanmyint Saung, Cultural Museum etc...
This beautifully built monastery was originally inside the palace compound.King Thibaw had it moved to its present site east of the palace in 1879 after his father’s death. A master piece of wood carving techniques. It is the original teak pavilion, completely gilded where King Mindon once lived. After his death it was set up as a monastry at the present site. Floral motifs and celestial beings are carved all over the walls.
Mahamuni Image Pagoda
King Bodawpaya built this Pagoda in 1784 to house the Mahamuni Buddha Inmage brought from Rakhine State.Being the most revered Pagoda in Mandalay ,the early morning ritual of washing the face of the Buddha’s image draws a daily crowd of devotees. The image is sitting posture - 12 feet & 7 inches (3.8 metres) high.
It is located at the foot of Mandalay hill( stands Ma Ha Lo Ka Ka Ra Jin Pagoda) founded by King Mindon .It is popularly called the Kutudaw Pagoda.King Mindon built this Pagoda in 1868,surrounding it with 729 marble slabs insribed with the Tipitaka text(the Three Baskets of the Buddhist Pali canon).It is often called the “World’s Biggest Book.” It has 730 leaves or 1460 pages each measuring three and a half feet wide, five feet long and five inches thick.Each leaf is put upright on a stand of its own and all these stands occupy a square compound of thirteen acres.
Not too far from the Kuthodaw Pagoda is the Atu-ma-shi Monastery (the Pagoda of the Great Marble Image), also built by King Mindon, stands at the foot of Mandalay Hill built in 1865, the Pagoda is so called because it houses a large image of the Buddha sculpted from a single block of beautiful Sagynn marble.
Kyauktawgyi Pagoda means the pagoda of the Great Marble Image.It was built by King Mindon in 1865.The pagoda stands at the foot of Mandalay Hill and it is so called because it houses a large image of the Buddha sculpted from a single block of beautiful Sagyin marble.
Lies to the south west of Mandalay, it was founded by King Bodawpaya in 1785 A.D. one year his ascension to the throne. After 40 years King Bodawpaya shifted the capital of AVA. King Thayarwaddy restored the old capital in 1838 for 59 years as capital. King Mindon established a new capital at the foot of Mandalay Hill. Amarapura was a square city with a moat surrounding the brick walls. There were 12 gates, three on each side. As the Palace building were dismantled & taken to Mandalay, no royal structures.
Built by Bagyidaw in 1820 this well preserved pagoda stood outside the old city walls. The lower terraces have marble slabs illustrating scenes from the Jataka. You’ll have a fine view over the surrounding countryside from the upper terrace. An inscription stone, within the temple precincts, details the history of the pagoda’s construction.
U Bein’s Bridge
1.2 km long across Taungthaman Lake, was built in 1849 with teak planks from Innwa Palace. At its farther end is Kyauktawgyi Pagoda. It is close to one mile long and crosses a shallowlake between Amarapura and a small village. The longest wooden bridge in Myanmar.
The historial capital was founded by King Thado Minbya in 1364. There is Maha Aungmyae Bonzan Monastery which is a fine example of Myanmar masonry, arts and architectural
The road to Sagaing crosses the river on the sixteen spans Inwa Bridge that is well over a km long. Opened in 1934 the bridge was put out of action by the British in 1942 when they demolished two spans in order to deny the bridge to the advancing Japanese. Not until 1954 was the bridge repaired and put back into operation. There’s a toll to take cars across the bridge, which also carries the rail line. Inwa Bridge used to be the longest-bridge in Myanmar until the emergence of Thanlyin Bridge in 1993.
Menu Oak Kyaung (Brick Monastery)
The beautiful brick monastery which was erected in 1818 by Nanmadaw Me Nu, Chief Queen of King Bagyidaw (181901837) in Innwa. This graceful & beautiful stucco-decorated building was known as “Oak Kyaung” because of the masonry construction. The visitors can study the great deal of Myanmar traditioinal engineering.
Sagaing lies on the right bank of the Irrawaddy River. It was founded by King Athinkhaya Saw Yun, son of Sihagu in 1315 AD, after the fall of Bagan. Sagaing & Pinya were the contemporary cities there 7 minor Kings ruled Sagaing for 51 years. Thado Minbya of Tagaung conquered Sagaing & Pinya. The capital was removed to AVA.
There are a great number of stupas in the area of Sagaing & on the ranges of Minwun. Short time tecame as capital when King Naungdawgyi, the eldest son of King Alaung Paya ). King Hsinbyu Shin moved away the capital to AVA, bringing an end to the capital of Sagaing.
Crossing the long Sagaing Bridge over the Ayeyarwady River, visitors can go to Sagaing which is just 12 miles from Mandalay. When you get there, you can pay homage to many pagodas and you may refresh because of the scenic board of Sagaing Hill. And you can also enjoy the pleasant scenery of Ayeyawaddy river the line vane of Myanmar. The Sagaing hill is famous as religious retreat among Myanmar people. Sagaing and the Sagaing hill abundantly rich in many pagodas and religious edifice and Myanma People can’t be separated from each other. Its long mountain ranges is shrined Pagodas on their top and keep over 400 monasteries built on these mountains are the abode for monks, nuns and for those practicing meditation.
Mingun is very interesting historically & archaeologically, located about 11 km upriver from Mandalay, on the west bank of the Ayeyawaddy River, Mingun has a gigantic unfinished pagoda, 50 meters high, overlooking the river, and the 90-ton Mingun Bell, the largest ringing bell in the world cast in 1170 by King Bodawpaya. A 45-minute boat trip to Mingun is very pleasant with plenty of life on the river to see.
Pyi Oo Lwin (Maymyo), lies some 40 miles north of Mandalay at the bottom of Shan plateau. Formerly known, as Maymyo is named after Colonel May of the 5th Bengal Infantry Regiment in 1886. At 1040 meters above sea level Maymyo is famous for it’s climate weather, used to be a popular hill station during colonial days. Surrounded by low hills within a area of approximately 30 square km, the area is dotted with pine trees, eucalyptus and silver oak. Coffee, vegetables and strawberries are grown on the slopes of the hills. Maymyo impresses with its many churches, colonial styled buildings with gables, turrets and chimneys etc. Horse-drawn royal carriages still play major role in transport means. Maymyo maintains a botanical garden of 432 acres, laid out by Sir Harcourt Butler, former Governor of Burma. Maymyo is reachable by car with just one and a half hour from Mandalay ,can also be reached by train over a scenic, narrow winding road climbing up the slops of the fertile Shan plateau. The British built railroad still being used today. Maymyo was originally founded by Myanmar official Maung Dwe in 1851 and later named as May Myo by British Colonel May in 1896. The scenic Pwe-kauk waterfalls, Chinese temple in addition to British built colonial buildings are places worth visiting. Nearby are Peik-chin-hmyaung Cave and Gokteik Rail bridge.
Monywa About 136 km to the west of Mandalay lies Monywa, the commercial center of the Chindwin Valley or northwestern Myanmar. Places of interest include Thanbokde Pagoda, with over 500,000 Buddha images; Bodhi-ta-taung (one thousand Bo trees): Ledi Kyaungtaik, a teaching monastery where Buddhist scriptures are inscribed on 806 stone slabs: and Kyaukka Village, known for its own distinctive style of lacquerware. Pho Win Taung - Relief figures in stone dating back to 13th Century, you can study then at leisure for 3 hours. Take about 5 hours travelling to & from Pho Win Taung & Shweba Taung.
Bagan lies on the left bank of the Irrawaddy river in the central part of Burma Bagan was founded in 109 AD. The first site of the city was at ( i ) yon-hlut-kyun & it was named as Arimaddara Pura by King Pyusawhti, the third successor. ( ii ) second moved to Kyauk Saga known as Lawkananda ( iii ) third moved to Ywa Seik ( iv ) the present site of Bagan was chosen by King Pyinbya in 860 AD. Having 55 rulers & passing through the period of 1261 years. The ruins of the city of Bagan cover an area of 42 sq-km containing about 3000 edifices. Populars know to travellers as the city of four million Pagodas in the richest archaeological site in Asia. The majority of these well-preserved shrine offer a rich architectural heritage from the 11st to 13th century era.
It was also capital of the First Myanmar Empire. This enchanting city is situated on the eastern bank of the Ayeyarwaddy River, about 193 km south of Mandalay.
It takes about one hour and twenty minutes to fly from Yangon to Bagan. There are daily flights to Bagan from Yangon, and regular flights from Mandalay, which take only 20 minutes. By overland, it takes 12 hours from Yangon and 7 hours from Mandalay by Coach. Express trains from Yangon to Mandalay stop at Thazi, from where it is accessible to Bagan by a 3-hour drive. There is also a double-decker steamer service between Mandalay and Bagan and the cruises “ the Road to Mandalay” operated by E & O Express, RV Pandaw, and Irrawaddy Princess & others.
Ananda is sleek, slim, sophisticated and infintelly more fascinating.The Ananda Temple is the masterpiece of early style temple architecture.There are four huge Biddha images in the standing position at the four faces and a series of eighty reliefs depicting the life of the Buddha.The most beautiful of all the Bagan Pagodas. It is a felicitous and harmonious blending of the best Myanmar, Mon and Indian architectural styles of those days.It was built by Kyansitthar King in 1090.
Shwezigon is simple,massive and imposing.It was built by Anawrahta King,founder of the first Mynamar Empire, and finied by King Kyansittha in 1084. The Shwezigon was held in special reverence by successive kings and became the prototype for later Myanmar pagodas. There are three pagoda terraces.Around the terracesmthrer are many scenes from the previous lives of Lord Buddha. At another corner of the platform,there are spiritual figures,collected and ordered to be kept in a shed etrnally by King Anawrahta.
Built by King Alaungsithu,the Shwegugyi has not much left to see but historically this dark little temple is famous for the last day of a great king who was a noted sea traveller.The king was also the donor of the temple.When he was seriously ill,his son quickly removed him from the golden palace to this temple.The dying king , on his death bed, miraculously regained consciousness.But it was too late that the son immediately came down from the palace and suffocated him with a pillow.
Thabyinnyu is beautiful, grandeur and sophistication and over 66 metres high. It built by Alaungsithu,in the middle of the 12th century,overtops all other monuments and its terrace affords visitors a magnificent panorama of the Bagan plain.
Myinkaba is about two miles south of the walled Bagan capital city and it was the place where the captive Mon king, Manuha and his family were kept by King Anawrahta, after the conquest of the Mon capital Thaton in Southern Myanmar. By all accounts both legendary and historical, the Mon king was not kept enchained but allowed to live in comfort and some style with a palace of his own, and retainers to wait on him. Later Anawrahta became fearful because whenever Manuha came to see him radiance issued from the Mon king’s mouth every time he spoke. Anawrahta restored to a stratagem to demean Manuha’s glory, by giving him food that had already been offered at the pagoda. After taking this food, Manuha’s radiance vanished.
Gubyaukgyi Temple (Wet Kyi Inn)
A 13th century temple with a spire resembling the Maha Bodhi temple at Buddha Gaya. This temple is know for its walls paintings depicting scenes from the Jakata.
Following the sack of Thaton, King Anawrahta carted off 30 elephant loads of Buddhist scriptures and built this library to house them in 1058. It was repaired in 1738. The architecture of the square building is notable for the perforated stone windows and the plaster carvings on the roof in imitation of Myanmar woodcarvings.
Like the Htilominlo and the Gawdawpalin this is a prime example of later, more sophisticated temple style, with better internal lighting. It stands beyond the Dhammayangyi Temple and was built in 1181 by Narapatisithu. The interior was once painted with fine frescoes but only traces can be seen today.
Slightly to the east of the Thatbyinnyu this is the only Hindu temple remaining in Bagan. King Taungthugyi built it in 931; this was about a century before the southern school of Buddhism came to Bagan following the conquest of Thaton. The temple is dedicated to the Hindu god Vishnu and around the outside wall are figures of the “ten Avatars”, Gautama Buddha was said to be the ninth. The central brick pillar supports the dome and crumbled sikhara and once had figures of Vishnu on each of the four sides. Indian settlers in Bagan - possibly the skilled workers brought to construct other temples, may have built the temple.
One of the largest and most imposing of the Bagan temples, the Gawdawpalin was built during the reign of Narapatisithu (1174-1211) but was very badly damaged by the earthquake in 1975. The reconstruction was started in early 1979. In plan it is somewhat similar to the Thatbyinnyu - cube shaped with Buddha images on the four sides of the ground floor. The top of the stupa, before it fell, reached 55 metres (180 feet) high. The top terrace is still an excellent place to catch the sun setting over the Ayeyarwaddy.
In this same temple crowded central area the Pahtothamaya was probably built during the reign of Kyanzittha (1084-1113). The interior of this single storey building is dimly lit, typical of this early type of Mon-influenced temple with its small, perforated stone windows. A Pyu-style temple with lotus bud sikhara.
The most beautiful view of the nature of Ayeyarwady river & dawn and sunset. Right on the bank of Irrawaddy, the cylindrical Pyu style stupa is said to be the oldest in Bagan.
It was built by King Anawrahta in early 11th century diplays a strong Mon influence with a sleep stairway directly to the terraces for a superb view from the upper level.
Similar in plan to Ananda, this later temple is much more massive looking. It was built by King Narathu (1160-65). The interior of the temple is blocked by brickwork. The Dhammayangyi is the finest brickwork of Bagan.
Popa Mountain, Towering over the surrounding landscape, the solitary Mount Popa can be seen from quite a distance. The remains of an ancient volcano, the mountain is an important Burmese pilgrimage site. A museum there contains 37 nats, or spirits, that are the objects of the pilgrims’ devotion. The pagodas at the summit are reached by a seemingly endless stairway (you can rest at several monkey-inhabited shrines along the way). We appreciated the cool air at the top almost as much as we enjoyed the views of the countryside below. 30 mi/50 km southeast of Bagan. 1500 metres the hightest point within the Bago Yoma Range. To climb up 700 steep steps accompanied by a crowed of monkeys. The Popa National Park with dense sandalwood forests & rare species of birds & butterflies worth a walk or a trek.
It is a small town about 15 km south of Bagan, down the Ayeyarwaddy River. U Pone Nya Museum, formerly the Yoke Sone Monastery, exhibits antique laquerwares, wooden reliefs and a large standing gilded Buddha image. The figures carved outside the front of the building are worth seeing. Another place worth visiting is Tha-ta-na Kyaung (Keythar monastery) where Tipitaka texts are housed in a large red lacquered cabinet. Yoke Sone Monastery - the infrastructure tends to be a blend between monastic & residential architecture - 152 feet lengthwise & 76 feet breadthwise.
Around Lake Inle
Inle Lake is situated in the hilly Shan State in the eastern part of Myanmar. With an elevation of 900 meters above sea-level, it is one of the main tourist attractions in Myanmar. The lake, 22 km long and 10 km wide, has a population of some 150,000, many of whom live on floating islands of vegetation. Inle Lake, natural and unpolluted, is famous for its scenic beauty and the unique leg-rowing of the Inthas, the native lake-dwellers. Moreover, floating villages, colorful daily floating market and Inle Spa are places worthy of visit. The festival of Phaung-daw-Oo Pagoda in Inle Lake held during October is full of pageantry and colorful splendor.
The most convenient way is to fly from Yangon to Heho, which is the nearest airport to the lake. There are daily flights to Heho which take about an hour. If you are flying from Mandalay to Heho, it takes only 20 minutes. Traveling by car along the uphill and winding road over the Shan Plateau is interesting and well-worth taking although it takes long hours. There is also a regular train service via Thazi Junction to Heho and Shwenyaung, the nearest station to the lake.
The largest village on the Inlay Lake; its streets are a web of canals. There is some beautiful teak houses built on large wooden poles driven into the Lakebed. The main activity and attraction is at the floating market in the largest canal.
Phaung Daw U Pagoda
One of the famous principal shrines in Myanmar, this pagoda houses five small Buddha images. Once a year, in end September early October, there is a pagoda festival during which the five Buddha images are rowed around the Lake in a colourful barge.
Taunggyi, over 1,430 meters above sea-level, is the capital of Shan State in the eastern part of Myanmar. A hill station known for its scenic beauty, Taunggyi is cool and pleasant all the year round. The market on every fifth day is crowded with ethnic minorities in their traditional dresses. The journey from Taunggyi down to Inle Lake area takes about an hour.
Kalaw, another hill station as well as peaceful summer resort nestled in pine-clad mountains, is 1,400 meters above sea-level. It is located 70 km west of Taunggyi. Many of the Tudor-style houses and English gardens of colonial days remain. In the neighborhood lie villages of Palaung and other hill tribes who come to Kalaw market held every five days in their colorful costumes, adding to the quiet attraction of Kalaw. For Trekking to the Palaung Village about 17 km where you can see the tea plantations on the slope of the hill, long house with several families living together, traditional ways of life & beautiful panoramic view.
Pindaya is located 70 miles away from Taunggyi, situated between the foot of Mene Taung mountain range and Buddhalut Lake is Pindaya, a quiet and peaceful town. Old and big Banyan Jackfruit tree with their peculiar steam and branches are the beauties of the town. In Shweoohmin cave, there are many Buddha images and Kyaukset Panswe is the natural beauty of this cave.
Kakku, 46 km. ( one & half hours drive ) south of Taunggyi situated in Pa O region, about 2500 Buddhist Stupas lying in a main area of one sq – meter.
OTHER FAMOUS HOT SPOTS
Pyay once was called Prome after the British occupied Myanmar is located 285 km north-west of Yangon. Pyay is easily accessible by road or rail and a gateway city to Rakhine State, across the Ayeyawaddy River. It is a major trading zone where all the products from Rakhine State and middle part of the country trade in and exchange with those come from the lower part of the country. It is also an ancient capital of Pyu Kingdom which florished between 5th to 9th century known as Thayekhittaya (Sriksetra). At Thayekhittaya will find palace site, the cylinder shaped Bawbawgyi Pagoda, Payagyi & Payama Stupas each with a high conical dame& the Arcaeological Museum. Shwesanday Pagoda a gigantic sitting Buddha Status of Hse Htatkyi Pagoda, Shwe Phone Pwint Library & Museum are places to interest.
Pyay to Htonebo village ( 58 km ). Then take a 15 mins cruise to Akauk Taung. Just taking a big climb & trek to see Buddha images were carved on the mountains slides. This is a chance to see the enchanting Burmese simple ways of life in the timeless villages which lies amidst the surrounding rice fields with yoke water buffaloes.
Popularly know to tourists as the Golden Rock pagoda. Legend has it that the pre curiously balanced Rock is held in place by a strand of the Buddha’s hair enshrined in the pagoda.
A very popular pilgrimage destination, the mystical Kyaikhtiyo Pagoda stands on a gold-gilded boulder, precariously perched on the edge of a hill over 1,100 m above sea-level. The base camp at Kyaikhto is located 160 km by road from Yangon. From the base camp, pilgrims trek 11 km uphill to reach the pagoda platform. There is also a steep winding road for four-wheel drive cars from the base to the nearest point of 1.6 km away from the pagoda. Once you are on top, the panoramic view of the surrounding areas of hilly hinterland in haze is so breathtaking that you would not forget the experience and wish you could come back again.
It can be reached by coaches running between Yangon and Kyaikhto daily all the year round . The coach services are operated by the private as well as the government. You can also drive there, which will take about 5 hours. If you wish to go by rail, there is a regular train from Yangon to Kyaikhto, from which you can proceed by bus.
The four periods of the Rakhine history stretched from the Dhanyawaddy to the Vesali, then to Le Mro and finally Mrauk-U periods. Capital of the Rakhine Kingdom, which flourished from the 15th to 18th century, Mrauk Oo is reached by a 5 hour boat trip along the Kaladan River from Sittwe(Akyab), which is 90 minutes by air from Yangon. Mrauk Oo is noted for its fort-like temples and pagodas of stone and brick, and for its statuary and relief, which are distinctive. About 8 km north of Mrauk Oo is the archaeological site of Wethali, another ancient capital dating back to the 4th century.
A regular passenger boat takes hours from Sittwe to Mrauk Oo. Special speed boat with 20 seats takes only 2 hours 30 minutes. It is also accessible by road from Sittwe via Ponnakyun and Kyauktaw. Regular flights from Yangon to Sittwe takes about one hour 30 minutes.
The capital of Mon State and a major trading city of the south, 300 km southeast of Yangon, Mawlamyine was made famous and immortalized by the great poet and writer Rudyard Kipling, Mawlamyine is an attractive port with a ridge of hills on one side and the sea on the other. About 300 km away from Yangon, it can be reached by road and rail or by a 40-minute’s flight from Yangon - not on regular schedule.
Similarly Mawlamyaing is a really pleasant town surrounded by mountains and blue sea. Choungzon, Mudon, Kyaikmayaw, Thanphyuzayat and Ye townships include in Mawlamyaing District. There are many pagodas and stupas in Mawlamyaing.
Mogoke, is well-known for its rubies so it is called the ruby-land but it produces not only rubies but also other precious gems. Gems mining and sale of the precious stones are interesting in Mogoke.In the time of ancient Myanmar monarchs, offices relating to the gems industry-mining and sale of the gems-were opened in the royal city. The precious stones were sold under supervision of appraisers. During the reign of King Mindon in 1216, the King directly dealt with the foreigners in sale of the gems. Since then Mogok became a World famous town for its quality rubies. Private gem traders open sale shops in Mogok but there are also venues called “Hta Pwe for sale of the gems. The places are called “Hta Pwe in reference to keeping gem packets in brass trays known as “Hta . Gem dealers in Mogok usually take great care of “Pana the light in selling the stones. They separate the light of the Sun “soft “strong and “normal . The gem dealings are carried out only at the time the Sun light is normal. Selling and buying of the gems is done twice a day-once in the morning and another one in the evening at the “Hta market where rubies, sapphire, balas rubies and other multi-coloured stones are sold after paying tax on their reasonable prices. There are various types of dealers at the gem markets in Mogoke. Some of them buy only high price stones of their own selection while some of them buy only the gems they specialized, and some dealers who are experts in all kinds of valuable stones. In Mogoke gem markets there are very lovely and noble traditions which nobody had enforced them as conditions. They are- nobody sells imitated gems at the Mogoke market: the valuable stones are purchased at the bargaining prices whether the prices are high or low: if a dealer is bargaining the price, another one will not overtake him to bargain, and apart from these lovely customs, gem dealings are also done under set conditions. We invite you to visit Mogoke where you will experience gems dealing at “Hta Pwe or gem markets where you can also study the traditional customs of the gems industry.
Lashio, 855 metres above sea level is a trading town in Northern Shan State accessible by road and by train from Mandalay to Lashio, the famous Burma Road built by the British before the War, interests with Ledo Road leading into the Yunnan province. The interest sites --- main market in central Lashio Lay to see the various ethnic groups, Mansu Paya - on a hill, Lashio Hot Spa with entrance fee about 5 km northeast of Lashio Gyi.
Kyaing Tong, a small trading town in the Eastern Shan State and the capital city of the Golden Triangle Region, is situated about 1,190 Km (about 1 hour 30 minutes’ flight) northeast of Yangon. The town is famous for its villages of several hill-tribes such as Lahu, Akha, La Mone and Shans living in the surrounding areas. There are many sites to see besides the ethnic tribes in colorful dresses. As Keng Tung lies on low undulating ground, not far from the Thai border, it serves as one of the most suitable places for eco-tourism activities like trekking, mountain-biking and adventure tours.
It used to be a strongly fortified town and the remnants of a wall still remain. Today, however, it becomes an important business hub and frontier town as well as a popular tourist destination. There are regular flights from Yangon to Kyaing Tong. Visitors coming from Thailand are allowed to cross into this border town with border passes. Tachileik is also a border crossing point through which visitors from Thailand come to Myanmar. Regular air services are available between Heho, Mandalay, Tachileik and Yangon.
MYITKYINA is the capital city, estimated living about 4-6 million people including Non-Kachins (NKs.), Manmaw (Bhamo), Mukawng (Mogaung), Putau-U (Putao), Mohnyin, and Katha are the major cities of the Kachinland. International airport and the second largest station of Burmese railway are located in Myikyina. Ledo Road (some literature mentioned as Old StilWell Road is connected to the world via China in the east and via India in the west. The Road is one of the most ever expensive ones in the world spending more than US $ 137 millions in some 1942 - 1944, constructed under the leadership of Gen. Stil Well. Captain E R Leech, Dr Ola Hanson, were some of the famous authors who wrote about the Kachins. Due to inevitable circumstances of communication with the people, they could not mention the true to type of the Kachins. From Myitkyina there are diversing overland roads to Mo Gaung, Ledo Road, Bhamo & Sumprabon. Interesting sightseeing are Tribal Villages Jade Mines, Myitsone, Karein Naw, Mount Hkakaborazi (the highest point in Myanmar at 5,889 metres) will its year round snow-capped peak & National Park.
Ngapali is indeed a pleasant beach resort for those who want to get away from the noise, hustle and bustle of living in crowded cities. Located on the Rakhine coast and known as the “Naples of the East”, supposed to have been named after by Italians who had been there during the first Angelo-Burmese war, Ngapali is one of the beautiful beaches in Myanmar. This unspoiled beach streatching over 3 km with blue sea, white sand and swaying palm trees is 35 minutes’ flight from Yangon. By overland, 14 hours’ drive along the narrow winding road over the Rakhine Yoma after crossing the Ayeyarwaddy River at Pyay (Prome). There is an 18-hole golf course about 15 minutes’ drive from the beach.
Tourists and visitors are coming to enjoy its lovely scenery, taste the delights of the local seafood and get to know the simple native.
Those visiting Ngapali can enjoy the benefit of health by swimming in clean and fresh seawater with peace of mind, as there are no strong tides. There are also no sharks due to nearby islands and corals.
Under the shade of the coconut trees, we can sit out to enjoy the coconut juice while facing the sea and gazing of the changing light on the sea. The white clouds are slowly moving in the sky. Coconut trees are swaying side to side in the wind. Ngapali is a perfect place for peaceful relaxation. A visit to Ngapali is a must.
Chaungtha Beach is located about 40 km to the west of Pathein (Bassein) in Ayeyawady Division. Its white sand and the blue wate attract the tourists to take a beach leisure. It is a very convenient drive from Yangon via Pahtein taking about 5 hours. There are bungalow type resorts and hotels along the beach front with standard facilities. The hotesl are usually fulled with local domestic toursists from September to April. A wide choice of standard dining places offer the fresh and reasonable priced seafoods dishes. One can also visit the bearby fishing villages, mangrove river and a sand island.
What to do in Chaungtha Beach: sun bathing, bullock cart riding, cycling, horse back riding, walking along the shoreline, fishing, beach volley-ball and visiting to Sand Island and nearby Chaungtha fishing village.
KAN THAYA BEACH
Located 290 km from Yangon near Gwa on the Rakhine Coast, Kanthaya Beach is accessible by an 8 hour drive from Yangon over forested mountain road.It is developed recently. Kanntharyar means Pleasant Beach. It is located 16miles north of the town named Gwa and 65 miles south of Ngapali. It was officially opened in 1995. it can be reached by car from Yangon. The distance is 125 miles and driving time is about 8 hours. It can be also reached form Ngapali Beach. From there you should go to Thandwe which is not far from Ngapali Beach. There you can hire a car to get to Kanntharyar. Driving time on the road along along the coast is about five hours.
NGWE SAUNG BEACH
Ngwesaung Beach is a newly opened beach about 48 km from Pathein. This unspoilt beach stretches 15 km of white and and blue sea. There are about 4 international standard resort hotels and bungalow type accommodations on its beach front - fringed with Palm trees, all hotels face the beach. Good taste of Seafood dishes are available at the international standard resorts.
What to do in Ngwesaung Beach: One can enjoy variety of beach sport activites such as sun bathing, beauty & spa, bullock cart riding, bycling, fishing, beach volley-ball, scuba-diving, kayaking and wind surfing.
It lies 24 km south of Kyaikami and 16 km south-west of Thanbyuzayut. Thanbyuzayut means tin shelter and it is located 30 km located 30 km south of Mawlamyine. The town is well known for the historical event: the infamous Burma-Siam Railway which is known as :death railways:. Thanbyuzayut War Cemetery contains over three thousands graves of allied prisoners of war who died during building the railway. Most of them are British. It is one of the oldest beaches in Myanmar. The beach is lined by waving casuarinas trees. Seafood is available at restaurants with reasonable process.
Maungmagan located in the costal region of southern Myanmar. It’s situated near Dawei. Maungmagan Beach is alive with the fisherman and their fishing boats returning form the sea and carrying out preparation to go out the open sea again in the evening.
Thandaunggyi of Thandaung Township in Kayin State is 15 miles from Thandaung and 28 miles from Taungoo. Thandaunggyi region is situated in lower Myanmar and can become a summer resort. Thandaunggyi is designated as urban area and the Ministry has upgraded it into a hill station.
Mergui Archipelago is one of the world's hidden Archipelagos with more than 800 islands, covering about 14,000 sq miles (36,000 sq km). Most of area remains unexplored and moody steps on some islands.
There are many magnification location for camping, sea kayaking and sport fishing and world famous dive sites, such as the Burma Banks, Roe Banks, Western Rocky, South Twins, North Twins, Shark's Caves etc.
Incredibly diverse flora and fauna are found on the islands and in the water surrounding them.
Among those islands are various mangroves, wild life, caves, lagoons, fresh water falls and river in the forest. This region is perfectly safe for shelter even during the strongest of Monsoon season weather.
Apart from that Delta Queen ( RV Bah Nay Latt ) will cruise you to un-spoilt Myanmar prime beaches Ngwe Saung and Chaungtha.